禁食狗猫肉国际公约

玄陵是世界爱犬联盟(World Dog Alliance,简称WDA)的创始人,他的座右铭是“改变人类社会,拯救犬猫生存”。为了达成禁食狗猫肉的使命,玄陵在推动世界各国立法的同时,也将发起《禁食狗猫肉国际公约》,此公约是让世界各国关注狗猫肉问题的最佳途径。

2014 年6 月21 日,WDA 正式成立,旨在推动全球立法禁食狗猫肉。玄陵相信只有通过立法,才能从根本上解决亚洲各国食用狗猫肉的不道德行为。

2015 年9 月26 日,WDA 创办了首届926 世界爱犬节,并在世界各个城市放映玄陵制作的纪录片食犬者(Eating Happiness),披露亚洲各国食用狗肉的残忍事实。

2016 年9 月12 日,为响应WDA 在英国国会发起的连署运动,英国国会通过动议,透过外交途径向韩国施压,成功关闭了首尔最大的狗肉市场 -牡丹市场。

2017 年4 月11 日,台湾在WDA 的推动下,成功立法禁食狗猫肉,成为亚洲的一盏明灯。

2018 年12 月12 日,美国国会通过了禁食狗猫肉的法案,WDA 自2015 年起一直在美国推动立法,建立了历史的里程碑。

每年亚洲有超过3,000 万条狗狗被食用,其中70 %是偷盗来的伴侣犬。进行大量调查后,WDA 撰写了严惩盗狗白皮书,在中国大陆推动禁食狗猫肉的同时,也要推动严惩盗狗的法律。

2019 年3 月6 日,中国人大代表提出了保护伴侣动物的法案,当中包括了禁食狗肉和严惩盗狗的条文。 WDA 推动立法的不懈努力,不光可以挽救作为人类家庭成员的狗猫,也会让养育它们的主人看到希望。

2019 年3 月13 日,日本国会议员根据WDA 深入调查挖掘的第一手资料,在国会就狗肉问题作出质询。令人惊讶的是,日本竟然有超过100家狗肉餐厅,这些事实不为全世界所知。 WDA 的目标是在2020 年7 月东京奥运会之前,成功推动日本立法禁食狗猫肉。

2019 年6 月11 日,WDA 与意大利国会议员共同在国会提出了禁食狗猫肉的法案。意大利是一个喜爱动物的国家,相信法案很快便会通过。

2019 年7 月10 日,英国国会将禁食狗猫肉的条文加入动物福利(刑罚)法案中,法案有望在今年内通过。 WDA 在英国数年来的努力,取得了实质的成果。

2019 年7 月28 日,WDA 发起《禁食狗猫肉国际公约》的连署运动,呼吁人民签署支持,在全世界形成浪潮。公约已经得到美国和英国议员的赞同,正如推动美国成功立法的前国会议员杰夫・登哈姆(Jeff Denham)所说:“禁食狗猫肉显示美国与其他已经立法的国家站在同一阵线,并为推动全球禁食狗猫肉的国际运动出一分力。

International Convention to
Prohibit the Eating of Dog and Cat Meat

Genlin is the founder of World Dog Alliance (WDA). His philosophy is to “change human society, save dogs and cats”. To achieve his vision, while adhering to the legislative strategy, Genlin also intends to set up an international convention to prohibit the eating of dog and cat meat. Such convention will be the best medium to draw international attention to the dog and cat meat issue.

On 21stJune 2014, WDA was founded to promote banning dog and cat meat consumption worldwide. Genlin believes legislation is the only means to eradicate the immoral practice of eating dog and cat, particularly in Asian countries.

On 26thSeptember 2015, the first Dog Lovers’ Day was launched by WDA. Eating Happiness, a documentary produced by Genlin, was screened in cities around the world to reveal the barbaric nature of dog meat consumption in Asian countries.

On 12thSeptember 2016, in response to a parliamentary petition initiated by WDA, the UK parliament applied pressure to the South Korean government through diplomatic means, resulting in the closure of Moran Market, the biggest dog meat market in Seoul.

On 11thApril 2017, WDA’s campaign led to the successful passage of dog and cat meat ban in Taiwan, making Taiwan a beacon of hope in Asia.

On 12thDecember 2018, the United States Congress passed the Farm Bill which outlaws dog and cat meat consumption. It sets a historic milestone for WDA’s legislative efforts in the United States since 2015.

Every year in Asia, over 30 million dogs are slaughtered for food, 70% of whom are stolen companions. After thorough investigation, WDA drafted and published a white paper on increasing punishment for dog theft, aiming to end such crime along with the consumption of dog and cat meat in China.

On 6thMarch 2019, a Chinese congressman introduced the Companion Animal Protection Act which proposes banning dog meat consumption and increasing punishment for dog theft. Not only does WDA’s legislative endeavor save our beloved animal friends, it also shed a light of hope to their caregivers.

On 13thMarch 2019, using the firsthand and in-depth information provided by WDA, a Japanese congressman brought up the dog meat issue during an interpellation session in the Japanese Congress. The surprising fact that more than 100 dog meat restaurants exist in Japan sent shock waves through the world. WDA’s target is to legislate a ban on dog and cat meat in Japan before the Tokyo Olympics starts in July 2020.

On 11thJune 2019, WDA and an Italian Congresswoman jointly introduced a bill to outlaw dog and cat meat in ItalyItaly is an animal loving nation, it is thus believed that the bill will be passed in the near future.

On 10thJuly 2019, the UK Parliament agreed to an amendment to include a dog and cat meat ban in the Animal Welfare (Sentencing) Bill which is likely to officially become law by the end of 2019. WDA’s campaigning efforts in the UK over the years has come to fruition. 

On 28thJuly 2019, WDA announced its convention campaign and launched a petition to garner public support, forming a global trend against such atrocity. Congressmen in the US and Members of Parliament in the UK have already pledged to back WDA’s convention. As Jeff Denham, former US representative who introduced the ban on dog and cat meat in the US, said in his speech, “It demonstrates our unity with other nations that have banned dog and cat meat and bolster existing international efforts to crack down on the practice worldwide.”