世界愛犬聯盟:緣起

世界愛犬聯盟(WDA)是國際動保組織,於美國、法國、日本和香港註冊為慈善組織。

為什麼當初要成立世界愛犬聯盟?

2013年,玄陵回到他的家鄉貴州探親。在一個三層樓高的建築前,他看到一幅巨大的廣告招牌,上面寫著“花江狗肉”,他們告訴玄陵,花江狗肉是貴州的三大名菜之一。玄陵非常震驚,狗作為人類最好的朋友,竟然被端上了餐桌。為了尋找真相,玄陵在世界各地開始統計調查。他赫然發現,在亞洲每年有超過3000萬條狗被屠宰食用,其中百分之七十是偷盜來的寵物狗。


玄陵試著尋找專門推動禁食狗貓肉的動保組織合作,可惜經過一年多的時間,仍然找不到一家信念堅定、立場清晰的組織。直到一次他與一位他很信任的基金經理Winnie會面,希望她能推薦合適的組織給他時,Winnie說:“我相信全世界只有你這麼有決心要解決狗肉的問題,為什麼你不自己搞個組織來推動立法呢?” 這段話猶如當頭棒喝,玄陵覺得要達成他的目標,他必須拿出自己的信念、智慧、時間和資源,於是他放棄了原本優哉游哉的退休生活,創立了世界愛犬聯盟,去推動全世界“明文立法,禁食狗肉”。

世界愛犬聯盟是何時成立的?

2014年12月12日是動保界具有歷史性意義的一天。世界愛犬聯盟在香港大學舉行成立大典,匯聚全世界動保人士的力量來推動禁食狗肉。出席嘉賓分別來自美國、中國、英國、泰國、越南和香港等地,他們排成”DOG”的字樣,象徵著他們拯救受苦受難狗狗的決心。

World Dog Alliance: Origin

The World Dog Alliance (WDA) is an international animal welfare organization. It is registered as charity in the United States, France, Japan and Hong Kong.

 

Why was the WDA founded?

 In 2013, Genlin visited his ancestral hometown in Guizhou, China, only to discover a huge banner advertising “Huajiang Dog Meat” on a three-story building. Confused, he was told it was one of the three renowned Guizhou cuisines. Genlin was shocked to find out that man’s best friends are being served at the dining table. To seek the truth, Genlin began his investigation on the dog meat industry, revealing the fact that over 30 million dogs are stolen, slaughtered and eaten in Asia every year.

In the beginning, Genlin tried to find an animal welfare organization that is solely dedicated to banning dog and cat meat consumption to work with, but to no avail. It was until one day when his friend suggested, “Why don’t you establish your own organization to work on this campaign?” Such words opened up a whole new perspective for Genlin, and so he decided to quit retirement and establish the World Dog Alliance, dedicating his fortune, time and energy to advocate “explicit legislation banning the consumption of dog and cat meat”.

When was the WDA founded? 

12 December 2014 was a historic day for animal welfare. WDA held its founding ceremony in Hong Kong University, uniting animal activists to put an end to dog meat consumption. Attendees included animal activists from the United States, China, the United Kingdom, Thailand, Vietnam and Hong Kong. Participants lined up to form the word “DOG” symbolizing their determination to save all dogs that are suffering.