日本新任首相會禁食犬貓嗎?

世界愛犬聯盟一直在努力爭取前任首相安倍晉三的支持,旨在推動《禁食犬貓》法案。 儘管我們取得了重大進展,但安倍首相已於8月下旬宣布身體欠佳而辭去總理職務。

預定於2020年9月16日上任的菅義偉將成為令和時代第一位首相。 WDA寄予厚望,希望他傳承安倍的努力,讓貓狗免受人類殘酷虐待。

菅義偉在周一舉行大選。
紐約時報拍攝的照片

2019年3月13日,在預算委員會開始之前,國會議員大島九州男向安倍晉三首相遞交了一封信,國會議員杰夫·登哈姆(Jeff Denham)是WDA的立法夥伴,他成功推動了美國國會禁食犬貓。 信中明確呼籲日本盡快跟上美國的步伐,並立法禁食犬貓。

2018年11月7日,大島議員代表WDA敦促安倍晉三在日本禁食犬貓。

摘自日本政府網站
摘自日本政府網站

根據日本農林水產省的統計,在過去十年日本進口了453噸狗肉,相當於食用了10萬隻狗。 WDA於2018年9月派遣了一名調查員前往日本調查。目前,大阪、關西、神戶和首都東京有100多家餐館和冷凍肉店出售狗肉, 總數估計超過100,近年來數目一直在增加。

WDA調查員在日本狗肉餐廳Raku-Raku Ya拍攝

在社交媒體分享

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 email
分享在 print

相關文章

加入對話

Could Japan’s next Prime Minister outlaw dog and cat meat consumption?

World Dog Alliance has been building momentum to garner support from former Prime Minister Abe, aiming to push forward a bill in the National Diet outlawing dog and cat meat consumption. Unfortunately, even though we have met significant progress, he announced in late August that he was resigning as prime minister because of ill health.

Scheduled to take place on 16 September 2020, Yoshihide Suga will be the first new prime minister of the Reiwa era. WDA has high hope for him to extend Abe’s efforts saving dogs and cats from the cruelty of their meat trade.

Yoshihide Suga after sweeping an election on Monday for the leadership of his party.
Photo shot by The New York Times

On 13 March 2019, before the start of the Budget Committee, Congressman Oshima handed a letter from Congressman Jeff Denham, WDA’s legislative partner who successfully promoted the U.S. Congress to ban dog meat, to Prime Minister Abe. The letter clearly called on Japan to follow the pace of the United States as soon as possible and legislate to ban dog meat as soon as possible.

On 7 November 7 2018, Congressman Oshima on behalf of WDA urged PM Abe to ban dog meat consumption in Japan.

Extracted from Japan government website
Extracted from Japan government website

According to statistics from the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries of Japan, Japan has imported 453 tons of dog meat in the past ten years, which is equivalent to 100,000 dogs being eaten. WDA sent an investigator there in September 2018. There are currently more than 100 restaurants and frozen meat shops selling dog meat in Osaka, Kansai, Kobe and the capital Tokyo. The total number is estimated to exceed 100, and the number has been increasing in recent years.

Shot by WDA investigator in Japan dog meat restaurant Raku-Raku Ya

Share on Social Media

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on print