世界愛犬聯盟的聲明

今年 2 月 14 日,深井豪景花園有 29 隻小動物(包括貓、兔、鼠及雀鳥)從高處墮下,其中 15 隻當場死亡,3 隻經搶救後不治。事發數日後,一名男子前往警署自首,警方其後再拘捕另一名男子,二人涉嫌殘酷對待動物。

時隔半年,警方在 9 月 2 日表示已經完成調查,但律政司決定不就案件提出起訴。世界愛犬聯盟對此表示極度遺憾。

數十隻小動物在同一時間、同一地點從高處墮下顯然並非自然發生,極可能是有人所為。警方在事發後迅速拘捕兩名疑犯,其中一人更主動自首。種種因素令人難以理解律政司不作起訴的決定。

香港民眾普遍珍愛動物,今次事件令十多隻無辜的小動物喪失寶貴的生命,卻未能獲得審訊機會,為牠們討回公道,難免引起社會巨大反應,「放生殘虐動物人士」的輿論將嚴重打擊市民對司法機關的信心。

近年,在世界愛犬聯盟的推動下,世界各國都提高了對伴侶動物權益的關注,中美兩國更就「禁食犬貓」的議題推出相關政策和法律,在國際社會掀起保護動物的潮流。相較之下,香港保障動物權益的法律僅有《防止殘酷對待動物條例》,十多年來都沒有作出修訂,條文過時落後,未能跟上我國和國際社會的大趨勢,今次事件更凸顯該領域的不足之處。

因此,世界愛犬聯盟鄭重呼籲律政司重新審視今次事件調查所得之證據,並考慮將案件移交法庭審理,顯示香港社會絕不縱容殘虐動物的惡行。世界愛犬聯盟亦呼籲香港政府早日落實更完善的動物保護法,提高阻嚇作用,防止日後同類事件再度發生。

在社交媒體分享

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 email
分享在 print

相關文章

加入對話

A statement from World Dog Alliance

On 14 February, 29 animals, including cats, rabbits, mice and birds, were thrown from a high-rise building in Sham Tsang. 15 of them died immediately, and 3 more were certified dead after being sent to the hospital. A man admitted guilty of animal cruelty a few days later. The police further arrested another man with the same charge.

After a six-month investigation, the police announced on 2 September, that they had completed the investigation, but the Department of Justice decided not to press any prosecutions. World Dog Alliance has strong discontent with this decision.

This is obviously not an accident to have a few tens of animals fallen from a high-rise building at the same time. It is very possible to be animal cruelty done by humans. The police arrested two men promptly. One of them has already admitted his guilt. World Dog Alliance finds DoJ’s decision unreasonable.

People in Hong Kong love animals. More than ten innocent animals lost their lives in this incident. However, their justice cannot be upheld without any trials. We share people’s concerns and the view that “people can walk free with animal cruelty”, which will strongly damage people’s confidence on Hong Kong Judiciary.

World Dog Alliance has been raising awareness on companion animals’ rights worldwide recently. China and the US have implemented policies and laws on banning dog and cat meat consumption, which have created a trend of animal protection. In comparison, there is only Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Ordinance in Hong Kong. The Ordinance is outdated with no amendments for more than 10 years. Hong Kong fails to follow the trend in China and the international world. This incident highlights our loopholes in this area.

Therefore, World Dog Alliance strongly calls for a reconsideration from Department of Justice. Putting this case on court could cement that Hong Kong has no tolerance on animal cruelty. We also urge the Hong Kong Government to implement a more effective legislation on animal protection by giving harsher punishments to animal cruelty, so as to eradicate such cases in Hong Kong.

Share on Social Media

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on print

Related Posts

Join The Conversation